Hellas Filmbox Closing Event – With Konstantin Wecker, The Boy, Zafeiris Haitidis, Elisa Simantke u.a., Sunday, 28.01.2018, 7 pm

One of the highlights of Hellas Filmbox Berlin 2018 is the spectacular closing event of the festival: with the film award ceremony and a concert by the legendary The Boy and an after-show party full of surprises. Before that, well-known German composer, author and songwriter Konstantin Wecker and Greek filmmaker Zafeiris Haitidis will get into conversation with each other, moderated by journalist Elisa Simantke.

World premiere of the project “Greek Chronicle Project: the footage archive”!

After the Box Talk with Zafeiris Haitidis and Konstantin Wecker, the young musician and director Alexandros Voulgaris – also known as The Boy – gives his concert as a Berlin premiere. Alexandros Voulgaris is already very well known in Greece for his highly sensitive art, especially in the younger generation. This concert by The Boy in Berlin is undoubtedly an event!

With a ticket you can experience all the highlights of the closing event.

– STATEMENTS & New Vision Awards Ceremony

– BOX TALK: Konstantin Wecker, Zafeiris Haitidis and Elisa Simantke
The well-known German composer, author and songwriter Konstantin Wecker and the Greek filmmaker Zafeiris Haitidis in conversation, moderated by the journalist Elisa Simantke.
World premiere of the project “Greek Chronicle Project: the footage archive”!

– CONCERT: THE BOY
The young musician and director Alexandros Voulgaris aka The Boy gives his concert as a Berlin premiere.

– AFTER SHOW PARTY with DJs and many surprise guests

—————————————-

One of the highlights of Hellas Filmbox Berlin 2018 is the spectacular closing event of the festival: with the film award ceremony and a concert by the legendary THE BOY as well as an after-show party full of surprises. Before that, well-known German composer and songwriter Konstantin Wecker and Greek filmmaker Zafeiris Haitidis will get into conversation with each other, moderated by journalist Elisa Simantke. They make the exciting fourth “Box Talk” as the conclusion of the series, the Hellas Filmbox Berlin 2018 presented in the main programme.

The filmmaker, screenwriter and producer Zafeiris Haitidis (Athens) will present his interactive web project with Konstantin Wecker and Elisa Simantke as part of this conversation happening: “Greek Chronicle Project: the footage archive”. This interactive web documentary features about 2,200 videos of varying lengths and more than 500 photos that depict both the Greek and refugee crises.
Zafeiris Haitidis, as an “objective observer”, systematically filmed demonstrations, rallies, events and protests between 2011 and 2016. He created an archive database whose material was used by media networks, aired and used by international production companies in various short and feature films and documentaries (including National Geographic, CNN International, BBC, Arte). The entire – uncut – raw material will be online from the end of January 2018 and made available through a variety of playlists. Several videos will be accessible (subtitled in different languages). A unique cinematic mega-project documenting a part of recent Greek history.

Konstantin Wecker (Munich) is one of Germany’s best-known composers and songwriters. He never retired to an ivory tower of art. For decades he remained awake with regard to social developments in Germany, in Europe, in the world. He commented on it – not just artistically. He is still in action. He encouraged the creative people of Greece with great respect. He is one of the voices that stands for a solidary, tolerant, intelligent Germany that wants to make Europe culturally alive, not as a market that attracts the few and loses many. Konstantin Wecker – his voice means dialogue and resistance to division.

In their artistic activism, Wecker and Haitidis meet; their topics are: the crisis in Greece and in Europe, the refugee issue – both for Germany and for Greece a question of death and life. Greece, in which the far-right Golden Dawn has an influx, the activities of neo-Nazis, Pegida, AfD in Germany – humiliation, migration, integration, humanism, civil society, democracy, media landscape, state … Aspects of coexistence and conflict in both countries and transnationally.

The discussion will be moderated by the well-known journalist Elisa Simantke, who has been writing for years about European topics for the “Tagesspiegel”, especially about the Greek crisis. In 2015 she was awarded the Otto Brenner Prize for multimedia for her study “Europoly”, in which she dealt with the pressure for privatization in countries affected by the crisis. Elisa Simantke is co-founder and journalist of the platform “Investigate Europe”.

After the Box Talk with Zafeiris Haitidis and Konstantin Wecker, the young musician and director Alexandros Voulgaris – also known as The Boy – gives his concert. Alexandros Voulgaris is already very well received in Greece with his highly sensitive art, especially in the younger generation. This concert by The Boy in Berlin is undoubtedly an event!

With a ticket you can experience all the highlights of the closing event.

———————————–

Also every day at Hellas Filmbox 2018 in URBAN SPREE: Free Entrance / Free entry in Greek Market, Café Shop, Food Track, Red Bar Movies & Drinks – all in one of the most popular places in Berlin, at one of the most known film festivals in Berlin.


Music by THE BOY

Hellas Filmbox Closing Event – Mit Konstantin Wecker, The Boy, Zafeiris Haitidis, Elisa Simantke u.a., Sonntag, 28.01.2018, 19:00

Einen der Höhepunkte von Hellas Filmbox Berlin 2018 bildet die spektakuläre Abschlussveranstaltung des Festivals: mit der Filmpreisverleihung und einem Konzert des legendären The Boy sowie einer After Show Party voller Überraschungen. Zuvor werden der namhafte deutsche Komponist, Autor und Liedermacher Konstantin Wecker und der griechische Filmemacher Zafeiris Haitidis ins Gespräch miteinander kommen, moderiert von der Journalistin Elisa Simantke.

Weltpremiere des Projekts «Greek Chronicle Project: the footage archive» von Zafeiris Haitidis!

Mit einem Ticket können Sie alle Highlights der Abschlussveranstaltung miterleben.

– STATEMENTS & New Vision Preisverleihung

– BOX TALK: Konstantin Wecker, Zafeiris Haitidis und Elisa Simantke
Der namhafte deutsche Komponist, Autor und Liedermacher Konstantin Wecker und der griechische Filmemacher Zafeiris Haitidis im Gespräch, moderiert von der Journalistin Elisa Simantke.
Weltpremiere des Projekts «Greek Chronicle Project: the footage archive»!

– KONZERT: THE BOY
Der junge Musiker und Regisseur Alexandros Voulgaris aka The Boy gibt sein Konzert als Berliner Premiere.

– AFTER SHOW PARTY mit DJ-Set

—————————————-

Einen der Höhepunkte von Hellas Filmbox Berlin 2018 bildet die spektakuläre Abschlussveranstaltung des Festivals: mit der Filmpreisverleihung und einem Konzert des legendären THE BOY sowie einer After Show Party voller Überraschungen. Zuvor werden der namhafte deutsche Komponist und Liedermacher Konstantin Wecker und der griechische Filmemacher Zafeiris Haitidis ins Gespräch miteinander kommen, moderiert von der Journalistin Elisa Simantke. Sie gestalten den spannenden vierten „Box Talk“ als Abschluss der Reihe, die Hellas Filmbox Berlin 2018 im Hauptprogramm präsentiert.

Der Filmemacher, Drehbuchautor und Produzent Zafeiris Haitidis (Athen) stellt im Rahmen dieses Gespräch-Happenings mit Konstantin Wecker und Elisa Simantke sein interaktives Web-Projekt vor: «Greek Chronicle Project: the footage archive». Diese interaktive Web-Dokumentation umfasst etwa 2.200 Videos unterschiedlicher Länge und mehr als 500 Fotos, die sowohl die Griechenland- als auch die Flüchtlingskrise abbilden.
Zafeiris Haitidis filmte als „objektiver Beobachter“ zwischen 2011 und 2016 systematisch Demonstrationen, Kundgebungen, Veranstaltungen und Proteste. Er erstellte so eine Archiv-Datenbank, deren Material von Mediennetzwerken genutzt, ausgestrahlt und von internationalen Produktionsfirmen in diversen Kurz- und Spielfilmen und in Dokumentationen verwendet wurde (u.a. National Geographic, CNN International, BBC, Arte). Das gesamte – ungeschnittene – Roh-Material wird ab Ende Januar 2018 online gestellt und über eine Vielzahl von Playlists verfügbar gemacht. Etliche Videos werden (in verschiedenen Sprachen untertitelt) zugänglich sein. Ein einzigartiges filmisches Mega-Projekt, das einen Teil der jüngeren griechischen Geschichte dokumentiert.

Konstantin Wecker (München) ist einer der bekanntesten Komponisten und Songwriter Deutschlands. Er zog sich nie in einen Elfenbeinturm der Kunst zurück. Über Jahrzehnte blieb er wach im Hinblick auf gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen in Deutschland, in Europa, in der Welt. Er äußerte sich dazu – nicht nur künstlerisch. Nach wie vor ist er in Aktion. Die kreativen Menschen in Griechenland ermutigte er mit großem Respekt. Er ist eine der Stimmen, die für ein solidarisches, tolerantes, kluges Deutschland stehen, das Europa kulturell lebendig gestalten will, nicht als einen Markt, der Wenige gewinnen und Viele verlieren lässt. Konstantin Wecker – seine Stimme bedeutet Dialog und Widerstand gegen die Entzweiung.

In ihrem künstlerischen Aktivismus begegnen sich Wecker und Haitidis; ihre Themen sind: die Krise in Griechenland und in Europa, die Flüchtlingsthematik – sowohl für Deutschland als auch für Griechenland eine Frage auf Tod und Leben. Griechenland, in dem die rechtsradikale Goldene Morgenröte Zulauf hat, die Aktivitäten von Neonazis, Pegida, AfD in Deutschland – Demütigungen, Migration, Integration, Humanismus, Zivilgesellschaft, Demokratie, Medienlandschaft, Staat … Aspekte des Zusammenlebens und der Auseinandersetzung in beiden Ländern und länderübergreifend.

Die Diskussion wird von der bekannten Journalistin Elisa Simantke moderiert, die seit Jahren über europäische Themen für den „Tagesspiegel“ schreibt, insbesondere über die griechische Krise. 2015 wurde sie mit dem Otto-Brenner-Preis für Multimedia ausgezeichnet für ihre Studie „Europoly“, in der sie sich mit dem Zwang zu Privatisierungen in Ländern, die von der Krise betroffen sind, befasste. Elisa Simantke ist Mitbegründerin und Journalistin der Plattform „Investigate Europe“.

Nach dem Box Talk mit Zafeiris Haitidis und Konstantin Wecker gibt der junge Musiker und Regisseur Alexandros Voulgaris – auch bekannt als The Boy – sein Konzert. Alexandros Voulgaris findet bereits jetzt in Griechenland mit seiner hochsensiblen Kunst besonders in der jungen Generation starke Anerkennung. Dieses Konzert von The Boy in Berlin ist zweifellos ein Ereignis!

Mit einem Ticket können Sie alle Highlights der Abschlussveranstaltung miterleben.

———————————–

Außerdem jeden Tag bei Hellas Filmbox 2018 in URBAN SPREE: Free Entrance/Freier Eintritt Greek Market, Café-Shop, Food-Track, Red Bar Filme & Drinks  – und all das an einem der angesagtesten Orte Berlins, bei einem der angesagtesten Filmfestivals Berlins.


Music by THE BOY