Son of Sofia – by Elina Psykou, Saturday 19.01.2019, 20:00, Cinema 2

Greece, France, Bulgaria 2017, 111 min, Greek / Russian with English Subtitles, FSK: 18

Plot:

Athens, 2004 summer Olympic Games. 11-year-old Misha arrives from Russia to live with his mother, Sofia. What he doesn’t know is that there is a father waiting for him there. While Greece is living the Olympic dream, Misha will get violently catapulted into the adult world, riding on the dark side of his favorite fairy tales.

Elina Psykou

Born in Athens, Greece in 8/3/1977, Elina studied Film Direction at Lykourgos Stavrakos Film School and Sociology at Panteion University, both in Athens. She continued her studies receiving her MA (D.E.A) in Cultural History in Paris, France (E.H.E.S.S). In 2007, she participated in the Berlinale Talent Campus.

She has written and directed two short films and she has also directed TV spots for the National Greek Opera. Her first feature film as a director, „The eternal return of Antonis Paraskevas“, has received the first award of the Works in Progress section in Karlovy Vary IFF and premiered in Berlinale Forum 2013.

She is a partner at GUANACO Film Production Company.

FILMOGRAPHY

“The eternal Return of Antonis Paraskevas”-fiction, dcp, color, 89 min 2013

“Summer Holidays” – fiction, 35mm, color, 18 min, 2006

“Sunday trip” – fiction, 35mm, color, 9 min, 2004

Son of Sofia – von Elina Psykou, Samstag 19.01.2019, 20:00, Saal 2

Griechenland, Frankreich, Bulgarien 2017, 111 Min, Griechisch/Russisch mit engl. Untertititetln, FSK: 18

Handlung:

2004. Das Jahr der Olympischen Sommerspiele in Athen. Der elfjährige Misha kommt aus Russland, um bei seiner Mutter Sofia zu leben. Was er nicht weiß, ist, dass dort auch ein neuer Vater auf ihn wartet. Während Griechenland den olympischen Traum lebt, wird Misha gewaltsam in die Welt der Erwachsenen katapultiert und lernt die dunkle Seite seiner Lieblingsmärchen kennen.

Elina Psykou
Geboren am 8.3.1977 in Athen, studierte Elina Filmregie an der Lykourgos Stavrakos Film School und Soziologie an der Panteion University, Athen. Sie setzte ihr Studium mit dem MA (D.E.A.) in Kulturgeschichte in Paris fort. Im Jahr 2007 nahm sie am Berlinale Talent Campus teil.

Sie hat zwei Kurzfilme geschrieben und Regie geführt und auch Fernsehspots für die National Greek Opera gedreht. Ihr erster Spielfilm als Regisseurin, „The eternal return of Antonis Paraskevas“, wurde mit dem ersten Preis der Sektion „Works in Progress“ im Karlovy Vary IFF ausgezeichnet und im Berlinale Forum 2013 uraufgeführt