The Great Eastern (New Vision) – by The Callas, Thu, 16.01.2020, 20:00, Hall 3

THE GREAT EASTERN by The Callas

Greece 2016, 84 min, Greek with English subtitles

“Isolation, hope, lust and darkness. Five people standing like trees, waiting on a rocky isolated island for the ocean liner “The Great Eastern” to pick them up in a journey towards hope. A young butterfly flies between them and fucks everything up.” Inspired by the surreal oeuvre of Andreas Embirikos and especially his most important work “The Great Eastern”, the film deals with the longing for love as a utopia. The ambivalent space between everyday life and utopia of happiness that we constantly define is the field of action of the film. Where the “Old World” remains “Old”, with its weaknesses and darkness. Where the “New World” is about to rise. There is where human weakness manifests itself with the greatest possible intensity. There is where Love is both so human and so divine.

“The Callas”

is the tip of an artistic factory producing music, films, artworks, magazines, events, art shows initiated by the brothers Lakis & Aris Ionas. In December 2016 they did a premiere of their new feature film “The Great Eastern” in which they co-wrote the soundtrack with Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth). Prior to that, they had already successfully realized the feature film “Lustlands” (2013).

The works of the Greek artists have repeatedly enjoyed great success at exhibitions and festivals all over the world, such as the Liverpool Psych Festival, the Reeperbahn Festival Hamburg and the Gallerie Kustera Projects in New York. The band, consisting of Aris Ionas, Lakis Ionas, Chryssanthi Tsoukalas, Marilena Petrides and Christos Beqiri, has already released two albums in collaboration with the well-known producer Jim Sclavunos. Another album was released in 2018.

The last 10 years Lakis & Aris Ionas have been publishing significant magazines for the Athenian underground music/art/film scene such as Velvet magazine and Lust magazine. Their studio is one of the most active cultural spaces in Athens. Going by the name Velvet Room they are organizing art shows combined with music gigs and DJ sets involving some of the best new bands and artists in Athens.

The Great Eastern – von The Callas, Do, 16.01.2020, 20:00, Saal 3

THE GREAT EASTERN von The Callas

GR 2016, R: The Callas, 84 Min, OmeU

„Isolierung, Hoffnung, Wollust und Finsternis. Fünf Menschen bleiben auf einer felsigen und abgeschotteten Insel stehen, als seien sie Bäume und warten auf den Oceanliner, „den großen Östlichen“ für eine Reise in die Hoffnung. Ein kleiner Schmetterling fliegt unter ihnen umher und bringt alles durcheinander. Inspiriert von dem surrealistischen Lebenswerk des Andreas Embirikos und besonders von seinem wichtigsten Werk „Megas Anatolikos“, spricht der Film über das Verlangen nach Liebe als Utopie. Der ambivalente Raum zwischen Alltag und Glücksutopie, den wir andauernd definieren, ist das Aktionsfeld im Film. Wo die „Alte Welt“ „alt“ bleibt, mit ihren Schwächen und ihrer Finsternis. Wo die „neue Welt“ bereit ist, aufzutauchen. Wo sich die menschliche Schwäche so intensiv wie möglich manifestiert. Wo Liebe nicht nur menschlich, sondern auch göttlich ist.

„The Callas”

ist die Spitze einer künstlerischen Werkstatt, welche von den Brüdern Lakis & Aris Ionas gegründet wurde und Musik, Filme, Kunstwerke, Zeitschriften, Veranstaltungen sowie Kunstshows kreiert. Im Dezember 2016 wurde ihr neuer Spielfilm „The Great Eastern“ (Der große Östliche) zum ersten Mal gezeigt; den Soundtrack haben die zwei Brüder zusammen mit Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth) komponiert. Drei Jahre davor, 2013, realisierten sie erfolgreich ihren Spielfilm „Lustlands“ (Wollust-Länder).

Die Werke der zwei griechischen Künstler sind andauernd erfolgreich bei Ausstellungen und Festivals in aller Welt, wie Liverpool Psych Festival, Reeperbahn Festival Hamburg und die Gallerie Kustera Projects in New York zu sehen. Die Mitglieder der Musikgruppe (Aris Ionas, Lakis Ionas, Chryssanthi Tsoukalas, Marilena Petrides und Christos Beqiri) haben schon zwei Musikalben in Zusammenarbeit mit dem anerkannten Produzenten Jim Sclavounos (The Bad Seeds) veröffentlicht. Ein weiteres Album wurde 2018 veröffentlicht.

In den letzten 10 Monaten haben Lakis & Aris Ionas Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, welche von großer Bedeutung für die Underground Musik-, Kunst- und Filmszene Athens sind. Das Studio der Musikgruppe ist eines der aktivsten kulturellen Räume in Athen. Unter dem Namen „Velvet Room“ organisieren sie Kunstshows zusammen mit Musikauftritten und DJ-Sets, an welchen einige der wichtigsten neuen Musikgruppen und Künstler Athens teilnehmen.